Beginners guide to learning the guitar

One of my favorite things to do is play my guitar.  Unlike many people, I taught myself how to play guitar, simply by listening to a song and playing chords that sound similar to whats being played in the song.  While I don’t recommend this style of learning, it worked out well for me and I can now consider myself fluent on the guitar.  If you’re like me and have too much pride to get lessons, follow this introduction guide to teaching yourself how to play.

  1. Get an ACOUSTIC guitar:  This is one of the most important steps to becoming a guitarist.  Acoustic guitars are the only guitar a beginner should learn on because of the challenge it is to make every note ring out when playing a chord.  Because acoustic guitars are so much more challenging than an electric guitar, you’re forced to become completely familiar with the shapes of the chords, which is VERY important!
  2. Learn the basic chords:  Before you can start to learn your favorite songs, you must learn the basic chords that make up millions of songs.  I recommend you learn the following chords, and become so familiar with their shapes on the guitar that you can do them in your sleep: C major, G major, E minor, E major, A minor, A major, and D major.  Once you learn all 7 of these chords, you can play millions upon millions of songs.  Make sure you not only know how to play the chords, but also to be able switch between them.  An exercise that worked very well for me was constantly switching between the c major chord, and the g major chord, for these chords are the most challenging to switch between.

If you follow these simple steps, you’ll be well on your way to becoming a guitar legend.

Leave a Reply

