Back at it again…with another injury

Last year, I partially tore my ACL stealing third and my knee hasn’t been the same ever since. I wrote about this before but unfortunately, the freak accident has come back to haunt me once again. As a junior, this injury happened during the same last home game for the seniors. In my last home game as a senior, it’s happened again. What are the odds? I had just hit a double. The ball was hit again deep towards shortstop. I ran past third trying to gauge my chances of getting home. I look back to try and locate the ball and boom. I feel my knee dislocate and I take a tumble. It pops back into place as I fall and the sharp pain shoots towards my left knee immediately. The same damn injury. Here I am on the floor again, trying to hold back the tears, trying to stay strong while my teammates stare at me. At this point, I feel like my body has betrayed me. I don’t understand it, and I don’t know how to explain it either. Last summer, the orthopedic surgeon told me that he couldn’t repair my injury until I stopped growing. When the heck would that be? I couldn’t accept him telling me that and leaving me with a hole in my life. I had to play softball. It’s a part of who I am. So I decided to take the risk…and sometimes you have to pay the price for it.

So here I am once again fighting with myself. Should I risk it for the playoffs? Probably not. That would be the smart thing to do, but I don’t make smart decisions. I make impulsive ones, but in doing that, I could damage my knee forever.

Leave a Reply

