Wheelchair Charities

So for the past week I’ve been, you can say, harassing and hustling, teachers for their money. Okay actually not really. I walk up to a teacher and start, “Hi (name) I’m participating in this charity event called the Wheelchair Charities, and I wanted to know if you wanted to donate. I am playing for a basketball team that represents the borough of Manhattan. Our team collectively has to raise $1000 for this one hospital, the Henry J. Carter Specialty Hospital and Nursing Facility in East Harlem, which specializes in rehabilitating paralyzed people with the help of very advanced wheelchairs. Unfortunately, these wheelchairs are very expensive, so as a way to give back to the community, we are trying to collect money to help those patients who need these wheelchairs. Any donations are appreciated and it can be given in cash or check made out to Wheelchair Charities. If you want to find out more information, there is a contact you can call. So would you be willing to donate?” And that is basically how I swindled about half of the teachers in our school. Just kidding. I think its an amazing cause, and I know teachers in our school are very willing to support causes like this so I decided to ask them to help me in my endeavors. So far about 10 teachers have donated, and about 6 have said they would donate. I am still collecting money until next Monday, April 18th, which is my first game, so if I have not asked you if you want to donate, you can still come find me to help this worthy cause!

Leave a Reply

