Rodney

For us Juniors, we have a 8-1o paged essay due on Tuesday and for my essay I chose to write about something I’m really passionate about: children in prisons. I chose to focus on a particular aspect of this broad topic, and this is, if children should be placed in adult institutions, and what are the repercussions of doing so.

Upon researching my topic, I learned about a 16-year-old boy who was sentenced to eight years in prison for setting a trash bin on fire in Texas. Rodney Hulin was around 5 feet 2 inches and 125 pounds and immediately after being placed in prison, he was raped by a fellow inmate. After this incident, Rodney was allowed to heal at the prison hospital but he was placed back in the same prison right after. He was raped multiple times after that and after his cries for help were not answered, he chose to end his life.

I remember thinking about how so much could have been done to prevent the death of Rodney, but people, like the authorities at the prison chose to passively sit and watch because they felt that Rodney needed to learn a lesson. After researching more and more for my essay, I only learned of more teens who also fell victim to a failed system, as Rodney had.

Leave a Reply

