Friendships

“You aren’t growing up, if you aren’t losing friends.”

I saw this quote once. On Facebook actually. It helped me cope at a time when I was the person losing a friend who I thought I’d have forever. So I did what I always did because desperate times call for desperate measures. I internalized it and ran with it. For some it’s true, for others it isn’t. I can’t be the person to tell you which is which. For me though, it was 110% real and true. As we get older, we change. People change. It’s a natural part of life and sometimes there’s just nothing you can do about it, except move onto better things. Life is too short to have “friends” that judge you for being you. Or make you feel that you are less. Or make you feel bad about yourself. It’s hard to find friends, and I mean good friends. The ones that laugh when you trip but help you get back on your feet. The ones that want to see you be successful and the ones that you can share genuine laughs and genuine smiles with. It’s true what they say. You enter high school with 100 friends and leave with maybe 2 or 3. Eh, I’m not a perfect person. I’m not gonna lie. I’ve had some pretty big screw ups when it comes to friendships. The important thing though, is to learn from it. I have and I’m proud to say it. So if you’re one of those people that find themselves in a friendship blunder, here’s what I suggest. Do everything you can to eliminate negativity from your life and that includes the friends who are shady, or the friends who are selfish or narcissistic or anything that annoys the hell out of you. Get them out your life, but keep the ones that you love close. It’s one of the best things you can do. Trust me. Or not, you’re not really obligated to do so. But if you take anything from this blog post. Anything at all. Take that…and run with it.

Leave a Reply

