Loving and hating long distance friendships

Final

As you all probably know, I go to sleep away camp in the summer.

My camp is located in upstate NY, but there are people from all over the world who come to the US just to go to my camp. There are people from over 16 different countries!!!

Some of my closest friendships are with people from camp, and 98% of the time, they live far away from me. This really sucks a lot.

I have some friends from Spain and France and Russia and Venezuela and many more places, and I NEVER get to see them during the year. This makes me really sad, because I miss them so much. I live with my friends for up to 2 months in the summer. I am constantly surrounded by them, and then in the blink of an eye on leaving day, they are gone. This separation comes really quick and creates a drastic change in my life, every year on leaving day. ūüė¶

I face time my friends, and text them often, but it is truly not the same as face to face meeting in person. Some of my friends who I have known for many years are not coming back this summer, and I don’t know the next time that I will see them.¬†I hate to even think about this because it makes me so sad.

I have other¬†close¬†friends who live closer to me (Upstate NY, New Jersey, and Connecticut) and while we still aren’t that far away, it is so hard to find a time to get together. We are constantly planning meetups, but they only happen once a month or once every few months. This also makes me sad because I miss them and we live so close (but yet so far) and I rarely see them too.

Camp is my favorite place on earth, but long distance relationships¬†is¬†my least favorite part of it all. I love the friendships, and hate the distance…

Leave a Reply

