Vanilla Bean

I can vividly recall how happy I would be after getting out of Elementary School on a summer day and finding the ice cream truck waiting for me. As other kids would get colorful, cartoon shaped treats, I would never fail to get a vanilla cone every single time.

As I am no longer a Elementary School student, hearing the classic tune of the ice cream truck no longer brings me the same joy that it used to. However, the news that the price of vanilla has soared, not only affecting ice cream shops but also ice cream trucks, I found it saddening. A bad harvest in Madagascar caused the price of vanilla beans to spike drastically and will probably, eventually leave ice cream shop owners and ice cream truck owners to raise the price of ice cream. Many shop owners are even considering using fake vanilla substitutes, which I think is just horrible.

 

Leave a Reply

