A Court of Thorns and Roses

“There are those who seek me a lifetime but never we meet,

And those I kiss but who trample me beneath ungrateful feet.

At times I seem to favor the clever and the fair,
But I bless all those who are brave enough to dare.

By large, my ministrations are soft-handed and sweet,
But scorned, I become a difficult beast to defeat.

For though each of my strikes lands a powerful blow,
When I kill, I do it slow…”

Love. Love is the reason for everything.

Of course when beginning to read this story by Sarah J. Maas you don’t think it shall be about one of the world’s most complicated human feelings. Our story opens with our 19 year old female protagonist, Feyre. It is winter and she is deep in the woods, infamous for the dangers it holds, she is starving and is equipped with a bow and arrows to catch a meal for her and her family. It is then when she spots a deer large enough to feed her family for a week or two, that she spots a large grey wolf. Panicking about losing the precious deer meat to the wolf, and calculating whether he is a faerie or not she then proceeds to use her special ashwood arrow to strike the wolf, knocking him dead. This signals the end of , yet is also the beginning- a choice that later reveals itself as a catalyst in our main character’s life.

A lot of fairy tale elements at work here, this story alludes to “Beauty and the Beast” as well as Greek mythology “Persephone and Hades”.

I can say that I very much enjoyed the book, that although the strange circumstances surrounding how Fayre is taken away from home and the slow building romance which then veers into chaos and threats to their love- I am left awaiting the sequel in this trilogy which comes out this May.

4/5 stars highly reccomend if you love romance and medieval fairytales.

Leave a Reply

