Me and my bagels

Ever since I was 4 years old, I’ve pretty much been a spokesperson for bagels. Living on the upper west side in New York City, I’ve had some of the best bagels out there. Nothing in the world is better to me than an everything bagel with cream cheese, lox, and a glass of orange juice on the side. You can’t tell me that doesn’t sound amazing. It’s not just me that loves bagels, my whole entire family worships these soft yet crunchy buttery delicious breads. We’ve probably spend thousands of dollars buying bagels from Zabars and huge Costco size cream cheeses. No matter the time in the year, there will, for a fact, be bagels at my house. However, in the past 2 years, it hit me that bagels aren’t the healthiest thing to constantly eat and I cut down and started eating whole grain bread. I learned to love this too, but now when I sit down with that fresh bagel out the toaster, I get a sense of comfort from eating them so much in my childhood, and it’s more of a treat. I’ve also started eating whole wheat bagels (are they even that much better?).  However, cutting down on bagels has made me appreciate them more and cherish the times I let myself eat them. A girls got to get a spring break body, while still enjoying her delicious bagel.

Leave a Reply

