“everyday”

I like to spend a lot of my free time with a good book. I often get too emotionally attached and cry at the endings, even when they turn out happy. Sometimes they even turn out way too happy and that makes me cry even more. It’s as if I have become one of the characters and their worries are my worries, their happiness is my happiness. One book I liked, in particular, is called Everyday by David Levithan. It’s about this “person” who wakes up in a different body everyday. They don’t know their name, why or how it happened, or even remember being born. It is a given and they can’t do anything about it. And they are okay with that for the most part. Until they happen to fall for someone else’s girlfriend and goes through extreme measures to try to arrange for them to be together. I’ll stop there before revealing anymore because it all really spins out of control but I really recommend it. But I think I just really enjoyed it because it wasn’t like anything I’ve ever read before. The idea was so captivating because it literally takes everything that makes you a person and just makes it into this being that just exists. It really demonstrates the aspect of falling for someone’s true self and what makes them them and I think that’s really vital. It also made me reflect a lot on how if I were in this beings shoes, how would I act? What characteristic would I leave behind of my true self in someone else’s life? I think it’s not all that different from our everyday life either because we all have the power to have an impact in someone’s life because at the end of the day your face is just a face and your being is what you leave behind.

Leave a Reply

