Momo

 

Mom had packed lunch for me the night before the field trip in second grade. It had been a couple of months since I had arrived to America. I knew that this trip to Brooklyn Botanic Garden would allow me to make friends with my limited English. I remember we ate lunch in a cafeteria area and as everyone was pulling their lunches out, it was so different to what my mom had packed me. I hadn’t eaten lunch but suddenly, I didn’t want to eat. I was willing to starve rather than taking the momo’s that sat carefully in my lunch bag. I chose not to take our team food because I didn’t want my peers to see that I was different. I didn’t want to be the odd one out. As I longer am not in second grade, I have realized the importance of not trying to conform to anything that’s not you and staying true to your culture.

Leave a Reply

