How to Style IKEA’s RENS Sheepskin Rug

I’d never thought I’d write a blog– voluntarily. Yet here I am, writing a post.This blog? It’s going to be a pandemonium of my interests.

I love design. Interior. Graphic. Fashion. The works.

I’m a high school senior, going into the business world. I’ll be attending one of the best business schools in the country in September– and this blog is going to be really, really right-brained. Funny, isn’t it? I guess you’re wondering why I’m going into business. I’m not sure actually. I don’t really know how to justify my actions, but soon I will…  I’ll be majoring in marketing, though, the more creative aspect of business.

For now, this blog will be my creative outlet. At times it’ll seem like I put too much effort in, and sometimes like I just wanted to get it over with. I’m not making any excuses. I will put ‘too much effort’ in and I will just throw a paragraph or two on the page. I’ll put in the time and effort, but I want to see the extent of my capabilities.

Blogging is a big aspect of marketing, and I intend to find the in’s and out’s of ‘professional content creation’.


How to Style IKEA’s RENS Sheepskin Rug

So, last week I saw Brit+Co’s post on ‘3 Creative Ways to Decorate Your Home Office Desk’. In the post, they showcase the ways you can style the popular IKEA desk, the PARSONS DESK, through collages that show different interior design styles, ‘BOHO-CHIC’, ‘MINIMALIST’, and ‘PREPPY’.

I thought it’d be fun to test out my Photoshop skills– that I learn at school (THANKS, LAB), for this post. I’m 17. Haven’t gone to interior design school, this is just for fun!

I’ll be using the popular white fur rug from IKEA, RENS Sheepskin.

how to style sheepskin cover

Here it is. My tacky photo editing skills. Oh well. Ha. It’s also low resolution for some reason, sorry in advance.

The IKEA RENS Sheepskin Rug sells for $29.99 on their website. It’s an affordable alternative to some other fur rugs on the market. It’s also FURRY– which is always a plus. I’ll be showing 3 ways on how to style your humble abode with this rug with a modern, bohemian and Scandinavian design mindset.

HOW TO STYLE FOR A MODERN SPACE


how to style sheepskin modern

Modern and sleek design work very well with this rug. A lot of leather and geometric work best in these spaces. Modern spaces have contrasting colors. Colors such as black and white are used a lot. I’ve included a black leather throw pillow and one with a geometric pattern. I’ve also included a type of lighting fixture that has been trending lately, caged. It’s geometric, and frankly, doesn’t really serve any purpose than for visual interest (just saying).

HOW TO STYLE FOR A BOHEMIAN SPACE


how to style sheepskin boho

Bohemian has long been the style for artists and writers. It is just about the opposite of the modern style. It includes free-flowing and colorful aspects. The rug should fit right into the space, as bohemian style include fur and lace. For the pillows, there are patterns upon patterns. Aztec patterns are very prevalent in this style. The lamp is a mundane yellow color and also constructed to look like natural rock formations. All the decor pieces are cohesive and come from similar color families.

HOW TO STYLE FOR A SCANDINAVIAN SPACE


how to style sheepskin scandinavian

Scandinavian, in my opinion, is a mish-mash of different textures and colors that come together to make a happy baby. Though not many people flat-out know what Scandinavian style is, they’ve probably seen it all around them. IKEA is a furnishing store dedicated to Scandinavian design, that’s why this rug works so well with this design style! Honestly, I’m not too familiar with this design style– I’ve only learned of it a while ago. I do know, though, from looking at the decor pieces, there are a lot of bright colors and patterns. According to Wikipedia, it’s “a term to represent a design movement characterized by simplicity, minimalism and functionality that emerged in the 1950s in the five Nordic countries of Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Iceland and Finland.” I guess you could call it simple and minimalist– just my cup of tea. 🙂

Hope this was informative. This was pretty fun, actually.

Leave a Reply

